The Eight Limbs of Yoga

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

The term Astanga refers to “the eight limbs of yoga”, which are described in Patañjali’s Yoga Sūtras.

“Astanga Yoga Is Patanjali ” – Sri K. Pattabhi Jois


External Limbs

  • Yama – social ethics “restraints”
  • Niyama – personal ethics “internal restraints”
  • Asana – posture, sitting
  • Pranayma – breath regulation
  • Pratyahara – internalization of the senses, “drawing back”

Internal Limbs

  • Dharana – focus, concentration
  • Dhyana – maintaining a focus, meditation
  • Samadhi – complete absorption
Share This