Moon days (Full & New) are holidays We are Closed!

Why We Don’t Practice on Moon Days
It has always been the tradition of Ashtanga Yoga to rest from asana practice on new and full moon days (tithis). When asked why we shouldn’t practice on these days, Guruji was fond of saying, “Two ‘planets’ [grahas] one place, very dangerous.” What is meant by this is that on these days, the sun and the moon are in a line relative to the position of the earth. Consequently, their gravitational forces are all combined, and thus the effect of the ‘plantets’ more pronounced. One definitive effect of this is that the ocean’s tides are higher and lower on these days. When āsana practice is done daily, rest days are important for regeneration; and the extra biweekly ‘moon day’ comes as a welcomed respite.

Current Phase of the Moon

Current Phase of Moon

Lady’s Holiday

Resting from Practice During Menstruation

It is recommended that women take three days of rest – often referred to as “ladies’ holiday” – during their menstrual period for several reasons. The purpose of the menstrual cycle is to prepare the body for pregnancy; when conception does not occur, the thickened lining of the uterus is shed through menstruation. One reason to take rest during the menstrual period is that the downward and eliminating flow during this time may be counteracted by inversions such as sarvangasana and sirsasana. A second, more subtle, reason is that engaging mula bandha may be more difficult and/or may counteract this downward flow. Without engagement of the bandhas, vigorous practice can be physically unsafe. A third, more general, reason is that excessive activity can lead to an irregular menstrual cycle or the cessation of menstruation (amenorrhea). Menstruation may therefore serve as a convenient time to rest as the body begins the next cycle. We recommend that all female students take rest from practice during the first three days of menstruation and then avoid inverted postures until the end of their cycle. As the external and internal practice changes over time, the physical and spiritual importance of taking rest for a particular woman may change as well. If a woman decides to observe ladies’ holiday, she is still very much practicing yoga during this time, as yoga is far more than just asana.

Moon Days -2019
We observe the moon and how it speaks to us and we recommend you stay connected with our school moon phases & happenings.

 Monday, January 1
 Tuesday, January 16
 Wednesday, January 31

 Thursday, February 15

 Thursday, March 1
 Saturday, March 17
 Saturday, March 31

 Sunday, April 15
 Sunday, April 29

 Monday, May 14
 Tuesday, May 29

 Wednesday, June 13
 Wednesday, June 27

 Thursday, July 12
 Friday, July 27

 Friday, August 10
 Saturday, August 25

 Sunday, September 9
 Monday, September 24

 Monday, October 8
 Wednesday, October 24

 Wednesday, November 7
 Thursday, November 22

 Thursday, December 6
 Saturday, December 22

Yoga OM Gift Card

Choose an amount between $ 5 and $ 1000 dollars and Share the Experience of Yoga with someone. With this Gift Certificate, the bearer will be able to use their certificate to purchase goods or services.
Gift Card Close
FORGOT PASSWORD ?
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.
We do not share your personal details with anyone.
Share This
X
X