(9) Focusing Points In Yoga

Nava Drishtis (Dristi)
concentrate and bring greater awareness into our asana practice there are 9 Drishtis (focused eye gazing points) which we can use.

  1. Nasagrai Drishti – the space just beyond the tip of the nose. This is used most often and is the primary drishti in the sitting postures.
  2. Nhrumadhya Drishti – the space between the eyebrows (ex. Purvottanasana)
  3. Nabi Chakra Drishti – navel center (ex. Adho Mukha Svanasana)
  4. Hastagrai Drishti, – hand (ex. Trikonasana)
  5. Pahayoragrai Drishti – toes (ex. Savangasana)
  6. Parshva Drishti – far to the right (ex. Supta Padangusthasana)
  7. Parshva Drishti – far to the left (ex. Marichyasana C)
  8. Angushtha Ma Dyai Drishti – thumbs (beginning of Suryanamaskara)
  9. Urdhva Drishti or Antara Drishti – up to the sky (Virabhadrasana A)
    1. Note: for Antara Drishti it is an inner gaze where the eyelids are closed and the gaze is directed in and up toward the light of the third eye.

Use drishtis as a tool to help your improve your concentration and awareness in your practice.  Can you catch your attention if it wanders?  Do different sights, smells, sounds, etc. seem to grab your attention?  How about the time of day?  Are you able to stay more focused in the mornings rather than the evenings?  Noticing these things will help you better understand your mind and grow within your practice of being present.

    Translate »

    Yoga Classes

    Bodywork Sessions 
    Available !!!

    Click me! Close
    Share This